Summer solstice.

Published June 24, 2014 by tenderleaf

Well we travelled to Stonehenge on Friday for the Solstice, after arriving at our cabin that we had booked for the weekend we had a quick rest which involved me washing my hair and us all downing a cuppa. We wanted to be at the stones for sundown which was at around 9.20pm. We parked at the disabled car park so my mum could get a lift up we decided to walk there…oops!

image

It was the furthest car park away on account of the bus transfers, it was about a mile and a bit away luckily we left enough time to get there. It took roughly 20-25 minutes to walk to the stones, it was worth the walk though. Once there we found my mum who had claimed a spot fairly close to the stones.

image

The atmosphere was alive, my daughter and hubby went to the stones first I shortly followed after sorting the bags. It was packed but everyone was in good spirits, feeling the stones and dancing to the drums. My mum and I took the obligatory selfie 🙂

image

Then my daughter in between watching the drummers decided it was selfie time

image

And of course with me

image

And again.. little miss crazy eyes.

image

After this the sun started setting, which looked lovely

image

And this..

image

So then it really started filling up, I took some pics of my daughter at tge stones

image

Thats her sulky teen look lol.
We stayed with the crowd till about 1.30 then got the bus back to the car for a couple of hours to warm up. We went back up just before dawn, so many ppl were there, they reckon 37000 ppl turned up.
I didn’t get many good pics of dawn sadly on my phone, I will hunt out some from the other cameras though. We left just before the sun rose fully it was too busy and too many drunk/drugged ppl for it to be safe for my mum or daughter. My mum was using a stick unsteady on her feet.
So we got some sleep at the cabin and had a laxy afternoon.
This was my view

image

And

image

I can honestly say I could have stayed listening to those ducks forever. I just felt the stress ease away.
Just before we came home we did the official look at stonehenge.
There was a druid ceremony taking place.

image

And then there were more selfies lol

image

And some pics at the huts they have made there

image

Gotta add these

image

image

image

It was a brilliant weekend and if I get my way I will be going back for winter solstice.
Walking around the day we left in the relative peace and quiet you teally can feel the aura of the place or spirit…well I can anyway, a truely beautiful place. Now I gotta go through all my other pics. 🙂
Hope you enjoyed.

3 comments on “Summer solstice.

  • SO AWESOME. I always wanted to visit for a Solstice as a pagan teen but I guess the drunk/drugged folk would scare me a bit too much. Glad you had fun and OMG THAT CABIN. That’s my kind of place. ❤ Though it's quite nice where we now live. Right next to the see but away from the tourists so can listen to the sea on windy days, the birds twittering to each other, and the old chaps playing bowls next door. Still. It's no Salisbury!

  • Leave a Reply

        Crimson Chronicles

    "There are some things that time cannot erase."

    Missy's Corner

    This blog is about me, little me. Place were I can vent and share stuff! Recently bought myself a camera, so quite enjoy dabbling with that :) So expect alot of spam.

    Mushy Cloud

    A random collection of thoughts, musings, rants, lists, descriptions and arguments about an eclectic mix of subjects

    Brandon Robshaw and the English Language

    A liberal pedant's view of the state of the language

    jasonthirteen

    a creative writing blog

    Ray May Write

    I may be Writing, I may be studying, I may be doing both.

    justjackinabox

    musings of a muddled mind

    Lamoglie's Blog

    Reading, writing, obsessing

    MuseBoxx

    Space to Create

    myliteraturelife

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Corrina's

    Ramblings

    thethoughtsofemerlistdavjack

    Deeper Into the Forest I Go

    Ruby Francis

    Short Story Shelf

    the magical world of words

    'You can make anything by writing' - C. S . Lewis

